Three Cities in Four Days

Back in 2015, I traveled to three cities in the US in a span of four days- Denver, Salt Lake City & Chicago. Why? Because I thought it was a cool way to check off three places off my bucket list without having to take as many days off from work. I also saved money on the plane ticket and accommodation because if I chose to visit these cities during different times of the year, that would mean three separate round trip tickets and I would probably end up paying for at least three nights per city for accommodation. Obviously the only down side is only having 24 hours to explore each city. But I was determined to see as much as I can, so let’s just say I didn’t get much sleep during those four days.

marchtravel

So first stop was Denver, Colorado. I arrived early morning and the plan was to pick up a rental car, get coffee, explore downtown, have lunch then drive to Rocky Mountain National Park. Everything was going well until I got to the park. I was taking pictures of myself using a tripod and the strong winds basically knocked down the tripod and broke my camera. I was so angry, and cold, that I decided to leave the park much earlier than I had planned. I got a cabin room for the night just outside the national park in a little town called Estes Park.

I had to get up at 3 in the morning to drive to the airport and catch my flight to Salt Lake City, Utah. Once I arrived, I picked up my rental car and bought a new camera from Target. Then I walked around downtown and visited the library, an outdoor mall, and had pizza for lunch. Next I made my way to the actual salt lake and took pictures along the way against the beautiful mountains in the background. I met up with a guy from online for dinner and got drinks at a gay bar. The next morning, I visited the famous Church for Latter Day Saints in Temple Square before flying off to my next destination.

Chicago was the third and final stop. I arrived there around dinnertime so I got something to eat then checked into my hostel. After settling in, I went out to the city’s ‘gayborhood’ of Boystown. I only got one drink at some bar before heading back to  my room because I was exhausted. The next day I visited Chicago’s most popular tourist attractions including The Bean at Millenium Park, the Sky Deck, Lincoln Park, Navy Pier, and the Riverwalk. Just like New York City, Chicago is a very condense city so you can see a lot just by walking or using public transit.

As much as I enjoyed this super quick trip, it’s definitely something I wouldn’t prefer to do again. In my experience, I think it’s a lot better to take your time when visiting a city for the first time. I was so exhausted by the end of this trip and there were still so many places I wanted to see that I didn’t get to! Out of all these cities, I would love to go back to Chicago in the summertime. It was freezing when I visited in March so I feel like I didn’t really get to enjoy the city as much as I could have. Maybe I’ll get a chance to come back before the end of summer this year.

 

Leave a Reply

