That time my Mom & I went to Cancun

Today is Mother’s Day so I figure I’d write a post about the one and only time I traveled with my mom.

In January 2015, my mom and I went to Cancun, Mexico for about a week. She got a really cheap package deal from a co-worker and the only requirement was to take another person and both must attend a timeshare presentation.
DSCF4462
This was the first time my mom in her whole life actually got on a plane to go out of the country and take a vacation. The only time she was on a plane was when we moved to the US from the Philippines in 2001. Ever since then, she has been working full-time and never took a week off to experience a real vacation.

I was excited. And it was fun seeing my mom relax and have a good time during the whole trip. We stayed at an all-inclusive resort in front of the beach. Our room was decent, but my mom loved the view of palm trees from our balcony. It enhanced the feeling of being on vacation in a tropical paradise. It was a needed escape from the harsh east coast winter that year.
DSCF4166
One of the things I thoroughly enjoyed was the complimentary food and drinks. Our resort had a couple of fine-dining restaurants as well as a breakfast buffet, and everything on the menu was free! I also had drinks while I was on the beach, and forced my mom to have one as well. She got a pina colada and loved it!

Besides laying on the beach, my mom and I also went on a couple of day excursions. We took a ferry to Isla Mujeres and a bus ride to one of the wonders of the world, Chichen Itza. We visited these places with another filipino couple staying in our resort whom we met during the timeshare presentation.
DSCF4412
Cancun was one of the more enjoyable trips I’ve ever taken. It felt like a real vacation, compared to all my other solo trips. I also appreciated the chance to bond with my mom since we’ve never really spent time together just the two of us before.

I’m planning on taking my mom to the Jersey shores this summer, and maybe a trip to Florida later this year.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Heribert Lange May 14, 2017 — 10:34 am

    Happy mothers day to your mother

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad your mom (and you!) were able to enjoy a relaxing vacation! Your mom sounds like an extremely hard working person. Also, sometimes for us young folk our budget solo trips are not exactly “relaxing.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

